Is your LARC submitted content up for sale?
http://radiojim.exofire.net/pages/Questions.html
These are my own opinions, not endorsed or sanctioned by the LARC board, membership, or web admins.
Is your LARC submitted content up for sale?
http://radiojim.exofire.net/pages/Questions.html
These are my own opinions, not endorsed or sanctioned by the LARC board, membership, or web admins.
Has anyone tried to trace the domain name to see who the owner is? It does cost to keep a domain holders name off a registry but there are a lot of registries out there.
It has been owned by a previous club member in the past who seems to have left the area. It is my understanding that it has continued to run under the control of someone else - at least up until it was offered for sale...
The domain name is cloaked by a registrar that keeps ownership anonymous. We've tried to trace this person, but he knows what he is doing. I think some of us have gotten close, but to go any further would require legal action. Someone knows who it is, of that I am sure.
73
-Jim
Anyone know how much the asking price is? I tried sending the owner a private message and got a snappy response that said to make an intelligent offer.
-Norman
Apparently the website has been sold as of 12-19-11
http://146760.net/forum/viewthread.php?thread_id=465&pid=1432#post_1432
That's interesting. I will only believe it if full disclosure is forthcoming with the sale.
I also notice that photos in the Ham Radio Pictures gallery have been stamped with ©146760.net. Cathy, I see that some pics submitted by you and Lon are in that mix. Did you know that you transferred your copyright to 146760.net? I also see some pics submitted by other current and former club members there, with the same copyright stamp. Your pictures have just been sold by someone you don't know to someone else that you don't know. Yippee!
73
-Jim
I noticed if you type 146760.net into your browser at least mine redirects to k0kkv.org but if I go back to past history and click on lets say
http://146760.net/news_aggregator.php the old site comes up. I found that interesting...
-Tyler
Jim, we had all of our pictures pulled from that site several months ago. So if they were put back up on the site it was done without our permission.
Several months ago I had a lengthy online conversation with the unknown person running the website. It was then that we asked for all of our pictures and posts to be removed. The individual was not very forthcoming with whom ever they were, and were rather rude - and that made the decision to pull the pics etc. easy. They did comply with our request at that time.
Cathy
Tyler, when I click on your link above, it takes me to this website.....not the old site....what's with that?
Cathy
I suspect that what Tyler was seeing may have been old information in his browser cache.
73
-Jim
When I posted that it still went to old site. The next day I noticed it was changed to a full redirect to the current site.
The proxy that site used (before being sold recently) was through Go Daddy. A way people get buy with staying of Whois etc is to sign your rights over to them and they relinquish them back to you. Then it's not "your domain" but it is "their domain" and you "just use it." Then in Whois it shows up "Go Daddy" (in this case and not your name as the owner of the domain.) By law the owner of a domain has to provide ID etc and can be traced on any site such as whois unless this step is taken.
I can say this, at the time the site was sold (before this most recent time) it was estimated at a value of $3,000 - $5,000. So unless the "previous owner" of that domain liked to give away money they know who ran it there after (if they really sold it.)
I noticed today that there is a new site in place of the old site (I think)...but when I went to take a second look at it, I got redirected to the current site. It sure makes me wonder whats going on...
This topic is old. It has been automatically closed to new replies.
You must log in to post.